©LucileOrtegaHike: Towards Monestier
Vocation
This building is listed as a Historical Monument. Its earliest recorded existence dates back to 790. It served as a defensive structure. Dismantled in 1586, only a Renaissance section remains. The site is privately owned and not open to the public.
Place of refuge and justice, the castle administered the five municipalities of the Vocance valley. Its buildings were more numerous than today and constituted a small fortified city, dominated by a dungeon, on the left bank of the Cance. The site belonged to different families, then its decline followed that of feudalism. All that remains of this complex is above all its entrance buildings, on the banks of the river, which their current owner is gradually restoring. The site has been listed as a historical monument since 1986.
Prices
Free access.
Opening
From 01/01 to 31/12/2026 every day.
Only visible from the outside.
©OTAnnonay